Personal Thoughts, Selected Photos, and Culture Revelations shared by Odile

There’s nothing wrong with being nostalgic


Hello WordPress Readers!

I know for a fact that the French people are nostalgic.

They enjoy the past memories very much and look forward to spend time on what has already happened. Living in the States for 6 years now, I’ve noticed that the Americans are very optimistic! I absolutely love that, and truly admire that, but I think they are too optimistic about the future that they don’t look back and spend time on what they’ve done in the past.


Emotionally connecting with your younger self helps you maintain a sense of continuity and pace over your life.

Without the past, we wouldn’t be whom we are today. After all, the past shapes the future in a way since we learn from our mistakes.

The experiences you’ve had throughout your life help define who you are at any given moment.

Becoming nostalgic doesn’t have to mean going backward in your development. It’s not asking you to “live in the past”.

Spending too much time focused on the past can actually backfire.  However, dipping into the past to remind you of how you’ve coped with previous life stresses can help you strengthen your confidence in dealing with what you’re facing now. Playing those golden oldies can serve as a form of comfort food for your soul.

I can imagine in 3 decades from today, I’ll listen to a song from Bruno Mars and start smiling at my childhood.

It’s not stopping me from being optimistic, but being nostalgic is such a fulfilling emotion.

It does not cost much at all, but the reward is indescribable.

Overall, use your past experience to boost your identity.

65 responses

  1. You are right, just the other day I was telling my mum that for a person to move forward they have to remember their pass.

    August 27, 2012 at 8:05 am

  2. Good looking blog,

    August 28, 2012 at 1:49 am

  3. I am very nostalgic and secretly…deeply sentimental. Lovely blog!

    August 28, 2012 at 2:26 am

    • That’s great! I am pretty emotional as well! Thanks for reading it:)

      August 28, 2012 at 4:41 am

  4. Certain smells transport me to nostalgic memories quite often. The nose knows your wisdom well.

    August 28, 2012 at 5:59 am

  5. I think balance is always the key – but living in the now would beat out living in the past or worrying about the future – but it’s quite the balancing act, and as easy as it all sounds, I’ve yet to master it yet.

    August 31, 2012 at 12:05 pm

  6. Salut Odile!
    Thanks for your like on my blog. It gave me the opportunity to find yours. C’est merveilleux.
    France is on my ‘to visit’ list. Thanks for the tips.

    August 31, 2012 at 2:36 pm

  7. Nice overlay from the March on Washington.

    September 1, 2012 at 4:52 am

  8. Introspection is not a very American trait, tho it should be. And thanks for stopping by my blog. Breeze.

    September 1, 2012 at 5:50 pm

  9. “Emotionally connecting with your younger self helps you maintain a sense of continuity and pace over your life… Without the past, we wouldn’t be whom we are today.”

    Very true, well said.

    September 2, 2012 at 2:09 am

    • Thanks for your support! It means a lot:)

      September 2, 2012 at 2:47 am

  10. JWB

    The only way to look at life, is what you had written right there on your blog. Life is too short. Great writing.

    September 2, 2012 at 3:20 am

  11. Thanks for visiting, hope you get to travel. :)

    September 2, 2012 at 11:47 am

  12. healthandbeautybloguk

    This is so true! I sometimes look back on life and past experiences with regret. However, if i didn’t have those experiences, it wouldn’t make me who I am today. Stronger x

    September 2, 2012 at 12:22 pm

  13. Your positivity is incredible! I must follow to read more! Thank you for visiting my blog.

    September 3, 2012 at 12:20 am

  14. I don’t follow blogs, do you have a twitter handle? Your thoughts&opinions seem constructive.

    September 3, 2012 at 9:56 am

  15. Odile, thank you for stopping and liking my blog today. Your blog is a very dynamic looking one with tremendous diversity. I look forward to following it.

    Take care,

    Ivon

    September 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    • Thanks for your support Ivon!

      September 4, 2012 at 5:12 am

  16. Nice! I am a very optimistic person and I am not even American.lol I’m Asian by the way. I have read about you wanting to go to Sweden. I have a very lovely friend in Sverige making me miss him more when I bumped into your blog. Making me nostalgic for a moment.(“,)
    Have a great day!
    Carpe diem!

    September 4, 2012 at 12:51 am

    • Thanks so much for stopping by!:)
      How did you meet someone from Sweden? I’d love to meet some natives from there:) It sounds super interesting!
      That’s sweet that you have someone you care about:)

      September 4, 2012 at 5:11 am

      • He’s actually an old friend from high school. Moved in Spain and later on decide to study at a university in Sweden. He’s not a native there. he travels a lot and I guess he fell in love in that place and decided to stick around for good.
        Good luck to your journey.=)

        September 4, 2012 at 5:20 am

  17. You really have a unique blog. The idea of not losing touch with one’s younger self is an interesting one – nostalgia isn’t what it used to be!

    September 4, 2012 at 3:02 am

    • Thanks for your thoughts!

      September 4, 2012 at 5:09 am

  18. n

    Merci Odile,
    Beautiful site altogether

    September 4, 2012 at 3:08 am

    • n

      My apologies too, Odilets, I’m in bifocals

      September 4, 2012 at 3:29 am

      • what?

        September 4, 2012 at 5:09 am

    • Thank you for visiting!

      September 4, 2012 at 5:09 am

  19. robind333

    Wonderful blog! Really enjoy reading your post…many, many blessings to you..Robin

    September 5, 2012 at 3:19 am

    • Thanks Robin! I truly appreciate you visiting:)

      September 5, 2012 at 5:18 am

  20. njs

    This is so awesome…. I loved the pics too!!!

    September 6, 2012 at 4:23 am

    • Thank you so much!:)

      September 6, 2012 at 5:14 am

  21. Very well written. I tend to lose myself into the past quite often. Even though I’m aware of this, and consciously try not to. I guess it takes time.

    September 6, 2012 at 6:28 am

  22. Interesting take on French vs American culture

    September 12, 2012 at 1:46 am

  23. Interesting. I neither ignore the past, nor re-visit it (with any frequency). Although I do believe it does help shape who we are today (and moving forward), I think the most important moments and experiences in our lives are unavoidably imbedded in us, with or without reminiscence.

    However, perhaps I could use a little more nostalgia in my life. I hardly see how an occasional trip down memory lane could hurt.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. And thank you for introducing yourself by “liking” my blog. :)

    ~ Michael

    September 12, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  24. Comme La Recherche du Temps Perdu! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    September 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  25. I like what you’re saying here. Most of us get so wrapped up in moving forward that we forget to savor the past. You’re very insightful for a person of your age—or of any age for that matter. (Your considerable beauty is not just skin deep!)
    I like your photos, & the look of your blog page is dynamic.
    Thanks for visiting my blog & liking my post.

    September 15, 2012 at 12:04 am

  26. This is lovely and so truthful. Thank you for liking my blog post. As a result, I came here and have now had the chance to enjoy this. What a great way to start my Friday! Thanks, Odilets!

    September 21, 2012 at 2:44 pm

  27. I love the Washington Monument picture the best. Such a cool concept!

    September 22, 2012 at 12:39 am

  28. Hey! Thanks for liking my post. I am now following your blog!! :)

    September 23, 2012 at 6:43 am

  29. So true!I like to say I live full in the moments of today, but remembering the past & looking to the future makes for a pretty good balance of life :) thanks for stopping by Hello Butter, nice to meet!

    September 23, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  30. So True! I try to live full in each moment of today, but remembering the past & looking to the future are also is important to balanced living :) Thanks for visiting us at Hello Butter, very nice to meet you!

    September 23, 2012 at 1:54 pm

  31. Thank you for visiting myImmanuel!

    September 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  32. In the time I have been a blogger, wisdom has taught me that memory is a gift and only becomes a curse when we use it to focus on negative circumstances in a way that inhibits growth or prohibits progress.

    September 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  33. You definitely get it! That’s a gift at your age.

    September 24, 2012 at 2:15 am

  34. This is a Beautiful blog :) Thanks for stopping by

    September 26, 2012 at 1:30 pm

  35. rachel

    Great post! I agree. :)

    September 27, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  36. Great blog post yo :D I love nostalgia myself. I live in it almost all the time like when ‘m listening to music from my childhood in the 90s or looking at old photographs of all the good times I’ve had with my friends and family. I think nostalgia is great and while it can be easy to get lost in it, I personally couldn’t live without it. :)

    September 29, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  37. Thanks Odile for being on my blog.loved your photos and the nostalgic moments.

    September 30, 2012 at 8:47 am

  38. It’s so important to have a balance. You did a great job of putting words & pictures together. I like the busy-ness of it.

    September 30, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  39. nice post! History repeats itself because not too many people learn from their pasts…

    September 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm

  40. Love your Washington photo! Great idea.
    Keep up the photography. You are very talented.
    Great post. You are wise beyond your years.

    October 2, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  41. Good article!

    October 3, 2012 at 7:16 am

  42. Thanks for the comment on my blog!

    No, I´m not from Stockholm, I moved here one week ago and I love the city! You should definitely visit this city! It has everything!!

    October 3, 2012 at 10:31 am

  43. I stopped to thank you for visiting my blog. All the best to you.

    October 3, 2012 at 10:52 am

  44. I loved this post :D

    October 5, 2012 at 4:06 am

  45. Just last night I was a little bit nostalgic. There is nothing wrong with being a little nostalgic, I think it’s quite normal for a human to be that for a while.

    October 10, 2012 at 9:19 am

  46. Love your Blog Background!!!!!
    Excellent stuff.. thanks for stopping by!

    October 10, 2012 at 1:57 pm

  47. You are very wise for someone so young. As some of my friends would say: you have a very old soul. The more I read, the more I think that I must be from another country instead of the US because I seem to have more reserved, sentmental feelings than the average American. Perhaps it’s my Irish/German ethnicity. Regards, Sandra

    October 14, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • odilets

      Thanks for the compliment! I’ve gotten that a lot of times actually.
      I think it’s a good thing to not be too ‘sociable’
      Again, thanks for your wonderful words of encouragement!!

      October 15, 2012 at 5:43 am

  48. You have a lovely blog and some interesting posts! I also agree that it is important to remember the past, it is quite often comforting to look back and remember the good times that have come and gone.

    October 15, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • odilets

      I agree with you!:) thanks so much for reading!:)and for your support

      October 16, 2012 at 6:23 am

Your Opinion please!:)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers