Personal Thoughts, Selected Photos, and Culture Revelations shared by Odile

Neuf Reasons to love Stockholm


Hello WordPress readers!

This post will explain why Stockholm has planted a deep seed in my heart.(I’ve done a ton of research…)

1. Swedes speak English fluently

I wouldn’t have a problem communicating with the natives! Even though I may sound very lazy , I will still be able to stay in my ‘language comfort zone’. I am currently putting effort to learn Swedish through all the available resources I can find.

2. People are genuine and less pretentious then Americans (This statement, I believe that it applies to much of Europe as well)

I’ve had mixed reviews when it comes to calling Swedes “friendly”. Some say that they are very enclosed at first, but when they open up, it’s meant to last for a lifetime. Comparing Americans to Swedes, Americans are quick to open and overly friendly, but are they  sincere? (That would probably be a different story)

3. Stockholm is just like any other Cosmopolitan European city

It has a beautiful relationship with water which is charming to me. Sweden is made of many islands actually. Also, the layout of the city is like any other Swedish design- easy to navigate (transportation!), aesthetic, functional and trendy.

4. Five weeks of vacation!!

My Dad has to work his butt of to ONLY get 2 weeks of break from work. When I see that, I’ve realized that this is what American Capitalism/ American economy is all about.

I’ll speak for the entire continent of Europe on this one; In the States, it’s pure torture!! Once you start working in Europe, you are immediately guaranteed 4 weeks- Why wouldn’t anyone say NO to that offer?

5. #1 Place in the world for women, kids, and homosexuals

Scandinavia can be called the Heaven on the earth. No one hears about the region on the news (exception: Breivik) because no news is good news! Women have respect and are not frowned upon- it’s definitely more egalitarian.

Sweden is one of the safest cities on Earth! There is such a meager amount of crime.

Also, according to a recent survey, Stockholm is rated as the best place for homosexuals to live in. (umm, Not San Francisco)

It’s a Utopia.

6. Men do housework, and take care of kids

This points back to my topic of egalitarianism. Just because they have a wife does not mean that the male has the right to impose ‘women’ jobs on his spouse. Swedish men clean the house, educate the kids as much as a mother would, and cook. Women have much more respect and liberty. I’m not planning to be a lazy Mother..but I’m just in awe of the values of the Swedish culture/society.

7. A Green country!

Sweden is super Green! It’s a country of people that truly love the outdoors and as a return, they respect and love nature to the fullest. About 1/3 of Stockholm consists of parks. Actually, the capital of Sweden is the first city in the world to have established a national park within its city boundary- At the heart of the capital of 1.5 million people.

I would love to study environmental/energy engineering-researching ways to find new resources to fund our world.

8. Summertime in Stockholm

Summer is a huge time for the Swedes! They spend it to the fullest! Sun rises at 4am and ends at 10pm.

9. IKEA-  New Enterprises- good place for new businesses

Lately, many companies have been founded in Stockholm. According to a recent article, Stockholm along with many other Scandinavian capitols were rated best places to provide future jobs. Have you heard of Volvo, Ikea, and H&M? They are all global Swedish successful brands. Just recently, Sweden founded the rising music software- Spotify, and SoundCloud!

49 responses

  1. Mais tu oublies l’hiver… 8 mois d’un froid glacial… ;-) Important is to have a dream !

    October 13, 2012 at 2:14 am

    • odilets

      ahh ouii!! haha:) Merci de me faire souvenir de ce fait.

      October 13, 2012 at 7:33 am

      • talasrum

        ;-) you’re welcome !

        October 13, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  2. Having escaped California for la belle France, I find your views on America most refreshing and wonder if you have plans to someday live here in France? Bon courage et bon chance!

    October 13, 2012 at 8:23 am

    • odilets

      Lucky you! :) France is really worth it!
      hmm…I do hope to live in France! I’ve been there many times. But the number 1 place I’d love to visit – is Stockholm!
      Thanks for visiting me!

      October 14, 2012 at 8:24 am

  3. You have gathered a lot of information about Stockholm and Sweden. It’s fascinating because, if I’ve got it all right, you’ve never been here. I hope you’ll get your journey and travel here. I do not think you’ll be disappointed.

    October 13, 2012 at 8:33 am

    • odilets

      Yeah! Thanks so much for your compliment! :)

      October 14, 2012 at 8:23 am

  4. andersphansen

    The trouble with tourists who visit Sweden is that they think that Stockholm and Norrland is all there is to the country. Gothenburg and the west coast is every bit as good to visit as the east. And furthermore, easterners are more reserved than western Swedes. It goes with, amongst other things, the simple fact when an easterner speaks the sentence goes down at the end of it as opposed to when a westerner speaks when goes up. The former sounds depressed and whiny while the latter sounds happy and positive. Unfortunately for us western Swedes the Capital is located in the east and therefore the first people tourists meet are these cool and reserved eastern Swedes and then form their opinion of all Swedes from that. Perhaps you should try to break the norm and visit us instead of following the herd instinct and go to Stockhom.

    October 13, 2012 at 9:05 am

  5. Hi! Yes, all of the above are true. However, the language thing is harder. Speaking English is fine for vacation, but you do need Swedish to get a decent job. The 5 week vacation time is great though and we still complain that we need more. :)

    What got you interested in Sweden?

    October 13, 2012 at 10:54 am

    • odilets

      hmmm… well. I met a few people from Sweden, and I was really impressed by their attitude. From then on, I did my own research and it truly inspired me to make it my dream :)
      I know that English is not gonna be enough. Which is why..I’m learning Swedish :) Not well…but…I’m trying.

      Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

      October 14, 2012 at 8:23 am

  6. It’s interesting that you picked Stockholm and Sweden in particular. Why not Denmark? Singapore? New Zealand? I’ve seen all of these places listed on different quality of life or happiest places lists. Good luck with realizing your dream. (And, of course, you realize that the flip side of a bright and sunny summer is a dark winter! Sorry to be the bearer of bad news! But I’m sure Ikea and vacation days make up for it!)

    October 13, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • odilets

      I love Denmark too! But..if I had to pick 1 city, I’d go with Stockholm! I hear it’s the ‘Paris of the North’ so…..haha..I’m a Metropolitan person.
      and..I was born and lived in Singapore for 10 years. I would not suggest raising a family there.
      Thanks for visiting and leaving this comment!

      October 14, 2012 at 8:19 am

  7. Australians get 4 weeks holiday a year too.

    October 14, 2012 at 5:14 am

    • odilets

      Thanks…I forgot other countries …

      October 14, 2012 at 8:15 am

  8. The photos are beautiful and make me want to travel. I’ve always wanted to see Australia — I think it’s the kangaroos. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to viewing more of you photos.

    October 14, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    • odilets

      Thank you so much for your support!

      October 15, 2012 at 5:42 am

  9. Living in France for a year is definitely on my list. Now, I will make every effort to visit Sweden as well. Great post! Beautiful photos!

    October 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    • odilets

      Thanks Sarah!:) It means a lot!

      October 15, 2012 at 5:45 am

  10. Sweden also has great folk music. Maybe not to everyone’s taste, but definitely to mine.

    October 15, 2012 at 5:14 am

    • odilets

      What kind of folk music? Do the artists sing in English? I’m hoping to understand the music as well haha
      I’d be interested in listening!

      October 15, 2012 at 5:47 am

      • tuckamoredew

        Well, there is lots of great instrumental music such as the trio Vasen ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWorsJwzycw ) and even the songs by bands such as Garmarna are compelling even if one doesn’t understand them ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ufnnr_q1yfE ). There may be others that sing in English.

        October 15, 2012 at 6:06 am

      • odilets

        Thanks for giving me those links! :) I enjoyed listening to the folk music! :)

        October 16, 2012 at 6:13 am

  11. Liked everything you posted about Sweden!
    It is definitely a beautiful country but have you thought about the weather?
    I lived across the pond, Denmark and it was cold and for many months.
    Contact me when you are about to travel to Sweden. I have 2 very good Swedish friends and I’m sure they would enjoy your visit. They own a restaurant in Stockholm called La Veccchia Signora. Check it out!
    All the best!

    October 15, 2012 at 5:44 am

    • Thanks so much!!
      Yeah…I have thought about the weather :/ I’m hoping to go there during the winter haah.
      How was Denmark? Did you enjoy living there?
      I just checked out their restaurant and it looks great! Are they a couple who owns the restaurant?
      Are they Swedish-Italian?
      Thank you so much for the offer! I’ll keep it in mind:):)

      October 15, 2012 at 5:54 am

      • and it seems like you’re a new blogger to wordpress:)
        Just a suggestion- you should work on your ‘about’ page! I’d love to learn more about the author behind ‘whostolemybacon’ xD

        October 15, 2012 at 5:56 am

  12. Wouwww… I have to visit Stockholm one day.

    October 15, 2012 at 7:20 am

    • odilets

      I have to as well! haha

      October 16, 2012 at 6:15 am

  13. Well, if everything you have written about Sweden is true, I may have to consider adding it to our itinerary (or start planning another trip!). It sounds awesome!
    Thanks for stopping by our blog too :)

    October 15, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • odilets

      Do add it on your list! :) Go to Sweden, and tell me how your experience was haha

      October 16, 2012 at 6:16 am

  14. Thank you for your comment, you made my day! :)

    I think you did a great little performance of Sweden! I agree with “Andersphansen” – that If you come all the way to Stockholm you can’t miss to visit Gothenburg. The people here are less stressed and very open-minded and kind to all new comers! :) Another thing about the northern countries is – the weather, there is about 4-5 months of sun and warmth, the rest is mostly raining or just very cold! But its awesome if you like snow in the winter time! Hope you get your dream trip! :)

    October 15, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • odilets

      Yeah! I hear that Gothenburg is visited by a lot of people:)
      How far is Gothenburg from Sweden?
      so..in your opinion, Stockholm Swedes are more reserved and ‘colder’?
      I hope to visit Sweden in the summer xD and If I like it, maybe I’ll try withstanding the cold:)
      Thanks for your feedback! It means a lot!

      October 16, 2012 at 6:25 am

  15. I’ve only been here shy of a month, but i’ve noticed the complete lack of LITTER. compared to Pittsburgh, this place is, well, sparkling. Try to walk through downtown Pittsburgh on a breezy day, you get to play “dodge the garbage.”

    October 16, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • hahahah Your mentioning of lack of litter reminds me of Singapore..
      That game doesn’t sound fun…
      I’ve always been impressed by the way of life of Swedes..so I guess their sanitary ways as well :)
      Thanks for your feedback and presence!:)

      October 17, 2012 at 6:17 am

  16. Great post! I went to a nightclub called Pure :)

    October 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Is that in Stockholm?

      October 17, 2012 at 6:17 am

  17. great job making me want to live there!

    October 17, 2012 at 3:29 am

    • haha! No problem! I’m glad my overall message of the post did pass through:)

      October 17, 2012 at 6:18 am

  18. I have a friend who recently traveled to Stockholm and loved it, saying the people were very friendly – I hope to get there some day.

    October 17, 2012 at 7:30 am

  19. amb

    I’ve never been to Sweden but this post makes me want to visit!

    October 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  20. Thanks for your insights into Stockholm culture. When comparing to Americans, please keep in mind there are multiple cultures in the USA- New England, New York, Southern, Californian, rural/small town, Cajun and Creole- the list goes on and on, and the approachability and personality differs in each group!

    October 17, 2012 at 2:48 pm

  21. Sweden is indeed a beautiful country, I returned several times. I’m sure that with your dedication you will get there and fulfil your dreams. Best of luck.

    October 18, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  22. I have a good online friend from Sweden.

    October 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  23. Your pictures gleam. Beautiful and cool work. Congratulations!

    October 20, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  24. Hej Odile,

    I can only recommend an internet-based language learning program for learning Swedish: http://www.worddive.com

    It’s a finnish company and it offers really fun and easy language courses online – for different languages, different periods and different levels. Check it out!

    The first picture of your post, the one from the restaurant/coffee place, is actually one of my favorite places in Stockholm – Muggen (www.muggen.se) – I’ve spent hours there :)

    October 24, 2012 at 11:50 am

  25. Mama Mayer (bakery) here. First travelled to Stockholm in 1981 and most recently in 2008 (stay with Swedish friends; we went to University together). The architecture of Gamla Stan is a wonder to photograph but, keep in mind, it is a destination for tourists. Definitely visit the warship Vasa soon as this fall they have found that it is decaying at an accelerated rate. Also take the transit system out to Drottningham Palace. Away from Stockholm, visit Uppsala (you can take the train from Stockholm) where the Swedish “Technical University” is… quaint, historical and you can learn about Linnaeus (ok I’m a science geek). If you can, go during summer solstice and head to a local celebration near the arctic circle. Talk about a long day! Explore the waterways around Sweden too. The charm of little islands can’t be overstated.

    October 30, 2012 at 12:38 pm

  26. Kenny

    Thanks for the info! I’ve put Stockholm on my shortlist of places to visit next Spring.

    November 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  27. Interesting that you have singled out Stockholm and Sweden as a utopian destination. Having said that, I am totally with you. I am so hooked on Scandinavian culture and places, but I do have a genetic tendency in this area!!( scandinavian ancestors) I also agree with the writer who suggested visiting the West coast. Stromstad is gorgeous in summer but also in winter. But then I tend to like the fog rolling in, and the serenity in a grey wintery day, and the snow, if you want to experience a real winter wonderland, Sverige is the place to go. I visited up North, just recently, to a place called Skellefteaa, and so loved it. The presence of water in Stockholm city is lovely, but I found Stockholm to be quite a modern city, apart from Gamla Stan. In this respect, there is no comparison to Copenhagen, and so Malmø also has advantages in that you can cross the Bridge from Sweden to Denmark in a little over 30 mins. I often travel there, and would so love to spend an extended time living in any of Swedne, with a little cabin by one of the numerous lakes. I have just returned from a two month holiday there and am planning my next. CAn’t wait to go back… thanks for this post.

    November 12, 2012 at 8:27 am

  28. I grew up with kids who were in the US from Stockholm. (Their dad came here for work for several years.) They were a lovely family, and we visited them several times. They taught us to speak a bit of Swedish, but even at 6, the kids spoke flawless English. I’ve been back there several times, and I would love to live in any of the Scandinavian countries. (I’m quite partial to Copenhagen.) Have you looked into visas and things like that? A good friend just made her dream come true and relocated from Chicago to France. It can happen for you!

    January 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm

  29. There are a lots of differences in Europe, you can’t make a conclusion too soon =).
    kc

    February 8, 2013 at 11:37 am

Your Opinion please!:)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,071 other followers