Personal Thoughts, Selected Photos, and Culture Revelations shared by Odile

Swedish Royal Wedding: Princess Madeleine and ordinary American banker


June 8th was a both a special and a spectacular day for the Swedish Royal Family.

9
Princess Madeleine of Sweden, 30, and NYC banker Christopher O’Neill, 38, held a wedding ceremony in Stockholm Saturday that drew about 500 European royals and wealthy jet-setters. It was prepared exquisitely for a princess with a kiss on the balcony, a carriage of course, and many little activities to commemorate this marriage.
Oh, and her Dad, King Carl XVI Gustaf, is said to be paying for the expenses.

SWEDEN-ROYALS-MARRIAGE

Which princess is she? She’s the fourth in line. She hasn’t had the best reputation among her people since in her early 20s, she would be found partying in the nightclubs and always presented herself in extravagant clothes. Her sister Victoria, has a better reputation with the crowd since she married a commoner. Victoria is first in line for the throne who married her fitness trainer about three years ago, and now they have a pretty daughter by the name of Estelle. SHE’S ADORABLE!!

4

However, Princess Madeleine heartbroken after her previous fiancé had an affair with a Norwegian handball player, she fled to a new life in New York, started working at her mother’s non-profit World Childhood Foundation, and found Mr. Rich O’Neill. Isn’t this a fairy tale?

5 The Wedding Of Princess Madeleine & Christopher O'Neill - Evening Banquet 2

Christopher and Princess will make their home in New York: He passed up the offer for a royal title, which would have required he become a Swedish citizen since he’s already both American and British.

Guests at the wedding included the U.K.’s Earl and Countess of Wessex, Prince Edward and Sophie; Princess Takamado of Japan and princes and princesses from Norway, Denmark, Greece, Luxembourg and Monaco.

3

O’Neill had also invited many of his super-rich friends, such as Opel heir Georg von Opel, Cadbury chocolate heir Joel Cadbury, Colombian billionaire Alejandro Santo Domingo, and Aidan and Fizzy Barclay. Other well-known invitees were Duran Duran band member John Taylor, the CEO of fashion retailer H&M, Karl-Johan Persson, and golfer Jesper Parnevik.

6 7

AND THEY LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER.

Source: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/europe/guests-arrive-to-wedding-between-swedens-princess-madeleine-and-new-york-banker/2013/06/08/0a92630a-d03c-11e2-9772-6fcf660e8c49_story.html

10 responses

  1. wow,she is really pretty,thanks for sharing this news.
    ranu

    June 10, 2013 at 12:00 am

  2. While the nuptial ceremony took place, me and mu sons went to a cinema. What film? The Great Gatsby!

    June 10, 2013 at 5:45 am

    • haha! Wonderful!
      Did you like the film?

      June 10, 2013 at 6:10 am

      • Yes, we all did, the boys too who mostly prefer action films!

        June 10, 2013 at 6:36 am

      • What does the film teach you and your boys about American culture?

        June 11, 2013 at 5:15 am

      • Not very much. It’s a splendid tale, thats enough.

        June 11, 2013 at 6:46 am

  3. Lovely post and photos – wishing them all the best!

    June 10, 2013 at 6:40 am

  4. I read about this wedding. Lets hope they are happy together

    June 10, 2013 at 9:05 am

  5. louiseinskottorp

    hmmm, I have planned to write a post about this for a long time. but really never got enough energy. I have always been proud over our royal family and am thinking that they most probably do as much for Sweden as anybody else. Although I do believe that the idea of inherit offices or any other job is quite outdated.

    When her sister, crown princess Victoria, wed some years back. I watched the hole ceremony on thought it was very impressive. I was so touched over their true emotions to one another. I would be very proud to have her as my country’s head one day (even though no formal power).

    She, the sister, Madeleine on the other hand. I am quite sceptic about. Maybe is it so that I am only jealous over the fact that she lives in NYC, have a nice budget and do very good things but surely do not work her self to death… or is it so that I am fed up that part of my tax money goes to pay for all that. I do not have any problem to share my tax money with people who actually do things for me and my country. But to finance her lifestyle while her payback to me and our country is very very poor. This only makes me a poor investor and I that make me angry. As I do not have a choice to finance her or not…

    June 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm

  6. louiseinskottorp

    I forgot to say that I did watch part of the braodcast on the computer later and I must say a tear or two rolled down my cheeks as the true romantic I am and I was also a little surprised over the emotions mr Chris actually showed. maybe he really loves her after all.

    June 12, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Your Opinion please!:)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,104 other followers